Top health and safety achievers recognised

Among the winners at this year’s Aspasa ISHE awards were (from left) Emmanuel Abraham, previous Lafarge Stanger quarry manager and current Lafarge Ridgeview quarry manager; Niel Els, Lafarge area manager; and Alexandra Wynne, current Lafarge Stanger quarry manager.

Health and safety of miners remains a top priority amid the COVID-19 pandemic and inspired surface mining industry association, Aspasa, to continue with its annual health and safety awards even in these trying circumstances.

Rather than a formal ceremony the association opted for a large-scale online meeting with all winners and stakeholders present to share in the achievements recipients. In line with previous years, the awards also proved the growing move towards establishing safer working environments and reflected a significant average score increase over the previous year.

According to independent auditor, Marius van Deventer, the overall audit scores of all Aspasa members audited during 2019 and the vast majority of participants increased their audit scores over the previous year. “It seems unfair to single out only a few winners this time, but these are truly deserving winners in an industry-segment that is widely acknowledged as the best in the industry for HSE.”

The Aspasa ISHE Audits of 2019 Award winners were:

Top performer

Raumix Aggregates Crushco

Top independent performer

Midmar Crushers

Consistency in achieving Showplace status for 5 years or more

  • Afrimat Harrismith (7 years)
  • Afrisam Newcastle (12 years)
  • Lafarge Stanger (5 years)

Most improved operations

  • Afrimat Dingwell
  • Afrimat Palmiet
  • Afrimat Bethlehem

Health and Safety Management Awards for outstanding commitment

  • Raumix Aggregates – Johann Pretorius
  • Lafarge – Elton Goosen
  • Lafarge – Peter Eddie
  • Afrimat – Brian Wevell
  • Afrimat – Steven Jansen van Vuuren

Health and safety Officer

  • Charity Mujuru – Raumix Aggregates Willows
  • Willem Msiza – Raumix Aggregates Alfa Sand
  • Manqoba Moyana – Lafarge Nelspruit
  • Laurencia Maphumelo – Midmar Crushers

Operations Manager – Health and Safety

  • Anthony Bowen – Lafarge
  • Theo Pretorius – Lafarge

Health and Safety Service Provider Excellence

Noshcon – Paul Chamen and Ronelle Affinand


Anashree Maharaj – Health and Safety Officer PPC

Marienky Lebudi – Health and Safety Officer PPC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *